NSCC Library: Library Resources for Faculty: Gale

Gale Databases

The Library subscribes to several Gale databases. Some of our Gale databases include:

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Find peer reviewed journals, trade magazines and news sources in a wide range of subjects areas, including: social sciences, humanities, environmental scinece, criminal justice, and business.
Biography in Context This link opens in a new window
Offers biographical reference content alongside video, audio, images, primary sources, magazine and journal articles. Facilitates searching by name, occupation, ethnicity, gender, nationality, birth place and date of birth.
Business Collection This link opens in a new window
Coverage of all business disciplines, accounting, economics, finance, marketing, management and strategy, business theory and practice. Optimized for periodical research. Mobile-responsive, with text-to-speech, & document translation.
Global Issues in Context This link opens in a new window
International viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events. Featured are issue and country portals that include sources for analysis of social, political, military, economic, environmental, health, and cultural issues.
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Find biographical information about authors, overviews of literary works, literary criticism, and reviews.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Informed viewpoints support learners in developing critical-thinking skills and drawing their own conclusions. Covers current social issues through viewpoints, reference articles, infographics, news, images, video, and audio.
Science in Context This link opens in a new window
Connects scientific disciplines with real world issues ranging from global warming to infectious diseases. Includes access to reference books, journal articles, news publications, and multimedia.
U.S. History in Context This link opens in a new window
Find articles, statistics, images, videos, and other types of sources on the most significant people, events and topics in U.S. History.
World History in Context This link opens in a new window
Find articles, statistics, images, videos, and other types of sources on the most significant people, events and topics in World History.

Gale databases

Linking to content in Gale Databases

There are a couple of ways you can share items in Gale databases. Linking to the article or page is the easiest.

To share a resource, click on the "Get Link" icon (Chain icon) at the top of the document.

The link will appear in a pop-up window, copy it to share.

Most Gale databases do not need the proxy prefix.

You can share documents in Gale through your Google Drive. This feature allows you to highlight information and make notes in the document to share. In order to do this, you want to sign in with Google at the top of the screen.

If you are already logged into MyNorthShore it will automatically link your account.

Google Drive Integration

Click on the Google Sign In link at the top of the screen to sign into your Google account.

Send to Google Drive
When you find a document that is useful to you, choose Send To from the toolbar and select Google Drive. If you haven't already logged into your Google account, you will be prompted to do so at this step. You will receive a confirmation that your document was saved to Google Drive.

Go to Google Drive to find your document. It will be saved in a new folder named after the product you're using.

You can also download a summary of your Highlights and Notes from the Highlights and Notes page by using the Send To tool and selecting Google Drive. If you haven't already logged into your Google account, you'll be prompted to do so at this step.

Highlights and Notes

The Highlights and Notes screen displays highlights and notes from articles during your current session.

TIP Click or tap Labels in the toolbar to create a legend for your highlights. You can label each color you've used for highlighting text and click save to create the legend.

TIP Before closing the product or your browser, be sure to send, download, or print your Highlights and Notes, or they will be lost.

Return to the Document
To view the highlighted text in its original context, click or tap the article title.

TIP When viewing a highlighted document, here's how to find and jump to each highlighted section:

In the toolbar, select Highlights and Notes (number)
In the pop-up, select the highlighted section that you want to skip to in the document
Optional: Click or tap View All Highlights and Notes to return to the Highlights and Notes screen