Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Open Educational Resources - History: Open Videos

Open Educational Resources Guide Key

 Open - free to use and repurpose

 Free - free to use

 Affordable - available at low cost

 Free North Shore - available to NSCC students and faculty

Top Documentary Films

 

Top Documentary Films includes documentaries related to history, politics and society. The history-related videos deal with historical topics from the ancient to modern period.

 

Frontline Documentary Films

Stream Frontline documentaies for free.

Moving Image Archive

   Download & Streaming : Moving Image Archive : Internet Archive  Archive's Moving Images library of free movies, films, and videos. This library contains digital movies uploaded by Archive users which range from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts. Many of these videos are available for free download. Select Community Video for some open access videos.

 

Folkstreams

Folkstreams is a collection of streaming documentary films about American Roots Culture. The site includes transcripts, suggested readings, study and teaching guides, and links to related websites.

 

Environmental History Resources

Environmental History Resources videos introduce themes in environmental history.

Open Access - free to use and repurpose

Free North Shore

Search or browse Films on Demand for streaming academic films, documentaries and news programs.

UShistory.org

UShistory.org provides links to primary sources, textbooks and video resources in U.S. history

British Pathe Moving Image Archive on YouTube

Bristish Pathe's moving image archive on YouTube contains over 80,000 videos (3,500 hours) of footage from their 20th century newsreels.

American President

American President allows access to links to presidential speeches, some of which are available in audio or video. Transcripts are available for all speeches.

Smart History

Smarthistory.org at Khan Academy offers more than one thousand videos and articles on art from the prehistoric to the modern era.