Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Open Educational Resources - History: Open Sound

Open Educational Resources Guide Key

 Open - free to use and repurpose

 Free - free to use

 Affordable - available at low cost

 Free North Shore - available to NSCC students and faculty

Oral Histories of the American South

Oral Histories of the American South includes collection themes: Charlotte, Civil Rights, Environmental Transformations, Piedmont Industrialization, Southern Politics, and Southern Women.

American President

American President allows access to links to presidential speeches, some of which are available in audio or video. Transcripts are available for all speeches.

Librivox

Librivox provides links to free public domain audiobooks. Users may access audio recordings that include important philosophical works.

 

Environmental History Resources

Exploring Environmental History Podcasts are podcasts about human societies and the environment in the past. The periodic programmes feature interviews with people working in the field, reports on conferences and discussions about the use and methods of environmental history.

Open Access - free to use and repurpose

National Jukebox

The National Jukebox provides links to historical sound recordings for public use. Included in this collection is music from the early to mid-twentieth century United States.

Internet Archive Digital Books Collection

The Internet Archive's Audio Archive contains recordings ranging from alternative news programming, to concerts, to Old Time Radio shows, to book and poetry readings, to original music uploaded by users. Many of these audios and MP3s are available for free download.