Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Open Educational Resources - History: Open Images

Open Educational Resources Guide Key

 Open - free to use and repurpose

 Free - free to use

 Affordable - available at low cost

 Free North Shore - available to NSCC students and faculty

Digital Public Library of America

The Digital Public Library of America is the United States' national digital library. The site is a portal to a variety of formats including text, images, moving images, sound, and interactive resources. 

New York Public Library Digital Gallery

New York Public Library's Digital Collections provide access to hundreds of thousands of images, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints from across the United States.

 

MFA for Educators

In Focus: World War II in Photos

In Focus is a photo essay in 20 parts by Alan Taylor, focussing on various aspects of World War II.

Digital Bodleian

Digital.Bodleian contains holdings from Oxford University's  Bodleian Libraries. It allows faceted search and browse across the collections, provides the ability to tag and annotate images, and bring together content in your own virtual collections, which you can then share with your research group or friends. 

MIT Visualizing Cultures

Visualizing Cultures uses new technology and visual materials to reconstruct the past as people of the time visualized the world (or imagined it to be). Topical units to date focus on Japan in the modern world and early-modern China. 

The History Project Image Collection

The Marchand Image Collection comprises more than 8600 images. Faculty members of the UC Davis History Department also contribute images used in their teaching. The growing collection includes maps, Aztec codices, early Americana, advertising posters and more.

French Revolution Digital Archive

French Revolution Digital Archive provides links to digital images of prints, illustrations, medals, coins and other objects from the French Revolution.