Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

NSCC's Mobile App Guide for Teaching and Learning: Research

This guide is for faculty and students to help them better understand and use mobile apps (particularly OS, Android, and Windows) at North Shore Community College to enhance the teaching and learning environment.

Category Description

These apps provide a great range of tools for both students and faculty to conduct, organize, and process research for their different needs.

Contact ITD

Questions, Comments, or Suggestions?

We would love to hear from you!

Email us at itd@northshore.edu.

Diigo

Diigo is your all-purpose digital library. App features includes: bookmarks, archives, annotations, notes, images, and screenshots. Collect everything in one place. Find and share it easily. Access it anywhere.

Platform(s): Android, iPad, iPhone, Web-basedDiigo

Cost: Free

Web Resources: Diigo, iTunes, Google Play

Ideas for Educational Use: Students can save webpages to read offline at a convenient time and can annotate them using the Diigo's annotation service.

Tips and Considerations: For iPhone, look under Diigo Browser.

EasyBib

EasyBib is an automatic bibliography and citation generator.

Platform(s): Android, iPad, iPhone, iPod Touch

EasyBib Icon

Cost: Free

Web Resources: EasyBib, iTunes, Google Play

Ideas for Educational Use: Students writing a research paper can keep track of their citations and generate a blibliography.

Tips and Considerations: N/A

Ebrary

Ebrary is an online digital library of scholarly academic electronic books.

Platform(s): Android, iPad, iPhone, iPod Touch

Ebrary Icon

Cost: Free

Web Resources: NSCC's library instructions, iTunes

Ideas for Educational Use: This app is great for any subject. It allows students access to the library's academic digital books.

Tips and Considerations: This app allows you to browse, view, search, download, and annotate documents (with some printing capabilities).

EBSCO

EBSCO is a library database that offers subject indexes, point-of-care medical reference, some historical digital archives, and e-books.

Platform(s): Android, iPad, iPhone, iPod Touch

EBSCO Icon

Cost: Free

Web Resources: NSCC's library instructions, iTunes, Google Play

Ideas for Educational Use: This app is excellent for general research.

Tips and Considerations: Limit results to full text or peer review. Sort by relevance or date. Save results for offline access.

Evernote

Evernote is an easy-to-use free app that helps you remember everything across all of the devices you use. Stay organized. Save your ideas and improve productivity. Evernote lets you take notes, capture photos, create to-do lists, and record voice reminders. It makes these notes completely searchable, whether you are at home, at work, or on the go.

Evernote Icon

Platform(s): Android, iPad, iPhone, Web-based

Cost: Free

Web Resources: Evernote, iTunes, Google Play

Ideas for Educational Use: Students can use Evernote for course-related notetaking.

Tips and Considerations: N/A

iSSRN

"iSSRN is a must have for anyone interested in the social sciences and now, humanities. Social Science Research Network (SSRN) is devoted to the rapid worldwide dissemination of scholarly research. Imagine having instant access to the world's best authors and their cutting edge research literally at your fingertips in the following subjects: Accounting, Classics, Cognitive Science, Corporate Governance, Economics, English and American Literature, Entrepreneurship, Finance, Health Economics, Information Systems, and more.

The application allows users to search over 260,000 research papers in the SSRN electronic library. The papers can be emailed or viewed right on the device. This is just one of the ways that SSRN provides access to tomorrow’s research today."

Platform(s): iPad, iPhoneiSSRN App Icon

Cost: Free

Web Resources: iTunes

Ideas for Educational Use: Encourage students to do research on the go or even in class as they work on group projects.

Tips and Considerations: N/A

Mendeley

Mendeley is your personal research library. Carry thousands of PDFs in your pocket. Read and annotate them on the go, search your entire library, and easily sync everything on your different devices.

Platform(s): iPad, iPhone, iPod Touch, Web-basedMendely App Icon

Cost: Free

Web Resources: Mendeley, iTunes

Ideas for Educational Use: A great tool for students to gather their resources for any type of research paper. It could also be used for the instructor to share out a list of material that students could use for learning and research.

Tips and Considerations: N/A