Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

SPE 102 Speech - Greene: Finding Articles in Databases

Using Databases

Databases are collections of articles from magazines, journals, newspapers, and sometimes books, that have been converted to electronic format for access via the Internet. Databases may be general in subject, or may be composed of information about a specific subject.

Databases work just like a web browser, such as Google or Yahoo. Just enter keywords into the search box and press "Enter" or click "Search". A list of articles will appear. You can usually open the articles by clicking on the title or by clicking on the words "full text".

 If you don't see any articles that are helpful try using different keywords. Reading a general article may suggest some keywords that may be helpful, or you can look your original keywords up in a dictionary to find alternatives.

Off Campus Access

In order to access the Library’s databases off campus you must have a library activated NSCC ID. If you are on campus, stop by the Student Life Office in Danvers (DB 132) or Lynn (LW 171) with a current class schedule to get an ID.  Bring your NSCC ID to the library circulation desk and we will activate it.

The fourteen digit barcode number on the bottom of your ID is your library card number. Enter this number when accessing databases off campus.

Finding Articles

The Library subscribes to over 60 databases covering thousands of sources. The databases listed below represent a variety of resources and are excellent choices for most topics. Try more than one database, and choose your keywords carefully. 

Remember, to access from off-campus you must enter the barcode number from your activated student ID.

Using Opposing Viewpoints in Context