Need help with citations?

MLA Tutorials

These tutorials may provide additional help:

Works Cited: A Quick Guide / MLA Style Center
URLs: Some Practical Advice
Basic rules for including urls (web addresses) in citations, advice on long urls and truncation

MLA Templates

MLA 8 Practice Template
Core elements Practice Template from the Modern Language Association.
MLA 8 Templates
From NoodleTools, templates for commonly cited sources in print and online.

Writing Help

Visit the Tutoring Center for help with your papers.

Location: DS105

eTutoring is also available, To Access:

Login to My Nothshore
Click the my courses tab. Under Angel is the gray eTutoring login box.
Click on eTutoring. Put your username in twice, read the terms of use and hit accept.
You should now be on the home page. Check the schedule and join a tutor or submit a paper for review.

MLA Style Guides

The NSCC Libraries own these style guides in print that can be used in the Library. Ask a Librarian if you need help locating them.

MLA Handbook by The Modern Language Association of America
Call Number: Ready Ref. LB 2369 .G53 2016
ISBN: 9781603292627
Publication Date: 2016
A Writer's Reference with 2016 MLA Update by Diana Hacker; Nancy Sommers
ISBN: 9781319083533
Publication Date: 2016

Recommended MLA Websites

Purdue University’s Online Writing Lab (OWL) - MLA Formatting and Style Guide
Purdue's OWL website is useful for formatting works cited entries and understanding in-text (parenthetical) citations.
Ask the MLA / The MLA Style Center
The Modern Language Association's FAQ blog is a searchable database for thorny citation questions.

Librarians are available for help! Come and see us in the library or make an appointment!

Refworks

The Library subscribes to RefWorks. RefWorks is a management tool to help you import, organize, create bibliographies and export references (or citations). To learn how to create an account and use Refworks to help with citations visit our Cite Research page.

When using RefWorks make sure you select ASA 5th edition. You may have to type it in the "Search for styles..." box.

Literature Databases

Recommended Literature Database	How it works with Refworks
Literary Reference Center Contains literary criticism in the form of scholarly journal articles from literature journals, books with literary essays, and also reference sources that contain brief analysis. Publications included are: reference books, literary journals and magazines. Search for secondary analysis of a work (criticism) and author biographies.	Click on to "direct export to RefWorks"
Literature Resource Center Contains reference books, literary journals and magazines. Use if you want outside critique on a work, a work overview (some summary and analysis), or biographical information on an author.	Click on then export to Refworks.
JSTOR Contains literary criticism in the form of scholarly articles from literature journals. Use this database if you are looking for scholarly articles on a literature topic. Use advanced search for best results.	Click , then select "Export to Refworks"
Information about Citing additional databases, can be found on our "Cite Reseach" page

CMP102 - Composition 2 - Taylor: Need help with citations?