Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Our new SNAP! Search makes finding information and credible sources a breeze. Search almost all of our databases at once with this powerful search. Here, you’ll find journals, books, videos, magazines, and more all in one search.
What is Discovery?
Discovery searches many databases in one search!
Discovery is a "Google-like" tool that searches many NSCC databases (and the book catalog) simultaneously. This single-search option is a nice timesaver, and it often uncovers resources that you might otherwise have overlooked.
You will get a lot of results, so take advantage of limiters on the left side of the results page!
Begin your search using some of our book sources. These databases contain articles and chapters from books that cover literary and biographical topics. NOTE: Many of the results from these can also be found via SNAP!search.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference finds context or background information for topics. Interactive Mind Maps identify closely related concepts and keywords associated with a topic.
Bloom's Literary Criticism This link opens in a new window
Excellent resource for literary criticism and information about literature and authors. Provides access to critical content published by noted scholars in the Bloom's Literary Criticism series.
ACLS Humanities E-book Collection This link opens in a new window
Scholarly ebook collection covering the Humanities. Find ebooks on history, literature, film & media, religion, and race, ethnicity & gender.
Continue your research using our article databases where you can find more in-depth and specific information on titles, authors, and themes.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is an excellent source for scholarly, peer-reviewed articles, ebooks and images, covering literature, history, the arts, and more.
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Find biographical information about authors, overviews of literary works, literary criticism, and reviews.
Also, try some of our general databases for more information on your topic. These databases contain some different sources than those listed above that can be useful. Most of these have an option to narrow your results to scholarly or peer-reviewed articles.
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Find peer reviewed journals, trade magazines and news sources in a wide range of subjects areas, including: social sciences, humanities, environmental scinece, criminal justice, and business.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Search a wide range of full-text journals, magazines, books, reports, conference proceedings and Associated Press videos. Includes peer-reviewed content for STEM research, the social sciences, and humanities.
U.S. History in Context This link opens in a new window
Find articles, statistics, images, videos, and other types of sources on the most significant people, events and topics in U.S. History.
Biography in Context This link opens in a new window
Offers biographical reference content alongside video, audio, images, primary sources, magazine and journal articles. Facilitates searching by name, occupation, ethnicity, gender, nationality, birth place and date of birth.
Many of the resources listed below can be discovered through SNAP! Search
World History in Context This link opens in a new window
Find articles, statistics, images, videos, and other types of sources on the most significant people, events and topics in World History.
Interlibrary Loan for articles
Did you find an article you would like to use for your research, but we don't have full text access?
You may request the book be sent to you via our InterLibrary Loan Service.
How to submit a request:
1. Check to make sure the journal and the full text article is not available through another NSCC database. Search Full-Text Finder.
If you locate the full text article, click on the full-text access button to open and read the article.
2. If the full-text article is not available, fill out the InterLibrary Loan Article Request form.