Skip to main content

BIO 202 - Molecular Biology - Kim: Help and Feedback

Stuck? Ask a Librarian

Need help with your research? Use our online chat service Ask a Librarian.

Our offline email is ask_librarian@northshore.edu.

Library Hours

Danvers Library Hours
Mon - Thur: 8:00am to 8:30pm
Fri: 8:00am to 4:00pm
Saturday: 8:30am to 12:00pm
Closed Sunday
(978) 739-5525

Lynn Library Hours
Mon - Thur: 8:00am to 8:30pm
Fri: 8:00am to 4:00pm
Saturday: 8:30am to 12:00pm
Closed Sunday
(781) 477-2133

Accessing Library Resources Off Campus

When accessing online library resources off campus you will be prompted to enter in your library card number. Your library card number is the 14-digit number beginning with 21991 on the bottom of your NSCC student ID. You must have your student ID activated into your library card in order to login off campus.

  • To get a student ID: Stop by the Student Life Office in Danvers (DB 132) or Lynn (LW 171) with a current class schedule.
  • To activate your ID into a Library Card: Bring your ID to the circulation desk in the Library.


Trouble-shooting Tips

Cookies Message Error

If you receive a Cookies Message Error when using the Library's resources, you need to set your browser to accept ALL cookies:

  • In Firefox: Click on the Tools menu > Options > Privacy tab > check box to Accept All Cookies.
  • In Internet Explorer: Click on the Tools menu > Internet Options > Privacy tab > Advanced button > check box to Accept All Cookies.

Switching Web Browsers

Once you have signed into a Library resource, if you are having trouble viewing an individual article, ebook, streaming video, etc... try switching your web browser (i.e. if you are using Firefox or Chrome, try Internet Explorer or vice versa). 

Access

Access to many of the links on this guide requires NSCC authenication.

Users must sign in with their activated NSCC Library Card Number and Password.

 

 

 

  FAQs


What is my Library Card Number?

Your library card number is the 14-digit number beginning with 21991 on the bottom of your NSCC student ID. You also must have had your student ID activated into your library card in order to login off campus.

What is my online catalog password?

Your default online catalog password is your birth date. Enter in format: MMDDYYYY.

How do I get a NSCC Student ID?

Stop by the Student Life Office in Danvers (DB 132) or Lynn (LW 171) with a current class schedule and a government issued photo ID to receive your NSCC ID. If you are a distance student, follow these online instructions.

How do I activate my student ID into a library card?

Bring your ID into the Library and ask to have it activated at one of the Services desks.

I am getting a barcode invalid login error.

Call the NSCC Libraries (Danvers: 978-739-5526, Lynn: 781-477-2133). You may need your password to be reset.

I am getting a cookies error message, what does that mean?

If you receive a Cookies Error Message when using the Library's research databases, you need to enable your browser to Accept All Cookies. 

Try a Google search on "enabling cookies" and "your browser name" for instructions.

 

Database Troubleshooting

I am getting a barcode invalid login error.

Call the NSCC Libraries (Danvers: 978-739-5526, Lynn: 781-477-2133). You may need your password to be reset.

 

I am getting a cookies error message, what does that mean?

If you receive a Cookies Error Message when using the Library's research databases, you need to enable your browser to Accept All Cookies. 

Try a Google search on "enabling cookies" and "your browser name" for instructions.

 

I can't seem to open the article on my computer. What's wrong?

Databases vary in the amount of information they provide. Some will contain full articles (known as full text), and others may only contain citations of articles.

It is possible that the NSCC Library may have online access to the article in a different database than the one you are using.

Search the Library's Journal Locator to see if you can locate the article in another database. IMPORTANT *Search by the TITLE of the journal or magazine, not by the title of the article.*

 

I am clicking on an ebook or video link that is available full text and it won't display on my screen.

Try switching your browsers. If you are in Chrome or Safari, try Firefox or IE.   

Subject Guide

Sarah Tremblay's picture
Sarah Tremblay
Contact:
North Shore Community College
Danvers Campus Library
1 Ferncroft Rd
Danvers, MA 01923
978-739-5540
Website