Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HIS131 World History 1 - Kaufman: MLA Style (Citations)

Skills - What is a citation?

What is a citation and why do we do them? NCSU Libraries explain in this short 3 minute video Citation: A (Very) Brief Introduction.

Skills - What must be cited?

When is appropriate documentation required? Proper attribution of a source must be given if you are:

(1) directly quoting a source (online document, video transcript, interview, statistics, tables, charts, etc…),

(2) paraphrasing a source (i.e. using the words or ideas of the creator and rephrasing them using your own words and structure), or

(3) summarizing a source (taking talking points from a source, reducing content).

Information that is considered common knowledge does not need to cited. Common knowledge can be a difficult term to identify, especially when you begin to delve deeper into research within a specific discipline. Review this page on Common Knowledge from the Yale University Writing Center that discusses the ambiguity of the term and how it is important to look at the context in which the information is being delivered or shared to determine whether or not a source would be common knowledge (foundational knowledge) to its audience.

Skills - Annotated Bibliographies

An annotated bibliography summarizes the central theme and scope of a source and also include one or more sentences that

  • evaluate the authority or background of the author,
  • comment on the intended audience,
  • compare or contrast this work with another you have cited, or
  • explain how this work illuminates your bibliography topic.

View the Annotated Bibliography Tutorial from Cornell University Library which defines what an annotated bibliography is, compares annotations to abstracts, details the process for creating an annotated bibliography, and gives a sample annotated bibliography as a guide to follow.

The Annotated Bibliographies Tutorial from Ithaca College Library is "designed to test (and improve!) your knowledge of various skills involved in creating an annotated bibliography."

Resources - EasyBib

EasyBib is an online citation generator that uses a series of online templates to create a Works Cited page for your sources. This online tutorial will show you how to register to create an account in EasyBib, add sources to your list of works cited, and export your source list into Google Docs.

Adding Annotations in EasyBib

Adding an annotation to a bibliography in EasyBib is easy. Click on the Add Annotation link at the bottom of the citation record and type your annotation in the text box that appears. 

Resources - MLA Websites

Purdue University's Online Writing Lab has produced a MLA Formatting and Style Guide that can help with general citation guidelines, in-text citations, formatting a paper and citing tables & figures.

Resources - MLA Handbook

If you prefer print guides, the NSCC Libraries own the MLA Handbook and A Writer's Reference, which will help with creating citations and integrating sources into your projects. Ask a Librarian if you need help locating them!

Services - Citation Assistance

Book a Librarian! Librarians are available to help you with citations. 

Services - Tutoring

Tutoring assistance is available in-person or online.

Tutoring Center

Location: DS105, LW222


 eTutoring is also available, To Access:

  • Login to Pipeline
  • Click the my courses tab. Under Angel is the gray eTutoring login box. 
  • Click on eTutoring. Put your username in twice, read the terms of use and hit accept. 
  • You should now be on the home page. Check the schedule and join a tutor or submit a paper for review.