(Adapted from the ALA's Information Literacy Guidelines and Competencies for Undergraduate History Students)
1. Initiate multiple searches within a database looking at your core research concepts and utilizing synonyms, broader terms and narrower terms for each concept.
(Example: If your Concept = Power, alternative terms to try might be authority, ruler, official, king, pharaoh, etc...)
2. Use historically appropriate terms when searching for primary sources in databases and on the Internet.
3. Try using subject terms found within source records to see if they improve the relevancy of your results.
Look at the list of references at the end of secondary and tertiary sources. Make notes of any scholarly works, for example books published by academic presses, and primary source materials.
Use World History in Context to begin research on your civilization using the provided Reference sources. These sources are meant to provide an overview and background information on different aspects of your civilizations.
Reference sources are considered tertiary sources. They are not scholarly sources and should not be cited in your research.
1. Search for your civilization.
2. In the References section click View All records.
3. Use the Limit Search By to limit by subject. Select Topic Overview for substanitive entries.
Use these resources to find primary and secondary source material from scholarly articles in history and humanities journals, includes peer-reviewed analysis written by and for historians
> Select Narrow By Item Type, Check Articles
In EasyBib, click on the Journal tab. Copy and Paste the article title into the search box, and click the Cite It button. Select the JSTOR tab in the results list, click Cite This button.
> Limit To Full Text, Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals
> Limit Source Type to Academic Journals
Click on to send your citations to EasyBib.
> Review Academic Journals
> Use Full Text, Peer-Reviewed Journal Filters
Under the Tools menu, click on Citation Tools, click on the Export to EasyBib button.
Search the NOBLE catalog to find primary and secondary source material in books, ebooks, DVDs and videos on demand.
* To have a book transferred from one campus library to the other, contact a library staff member for assistance. Quick turnaround (1-2 days).
If you locate a book outside of the NSCC Libraries that is available to borrow, click on the button and follow the online instructions to request the material. Materials using the regional interlibrary loan service may take up to a week to arrive.
For print books, copy the ISBN number into Book tab in EasyBib, click Cite It.
Search Ebrary for scholarly ebooks on your topic.
For ebooks, use the Book tab, click on the Manual Cite link. Select the Database tab. Use Ebrary as the Database name.
Click on the Citation link under the video. Click on the Export to EasyBib button.
Found an article you would like to use for your research, but it is not available full-text in one of the Library’s research databases or in our print journal collection?
Request the article be sent to you via our InterLibrary Loan Service!
How to submit a request:
1. Check to make sure the article is not available at NSCC. Search the journal article title to see if it is available in print or electronically at the NSCC Libraries.
2. If the journal is not available at the NSCC Libraries, fill out the InterLibrary Loan Article Request form.
The Library will contact you when the article arrives. Arrival times vary from several days to several weeks.
Found a book source you would like to use for your research, but it is not available through our regional library network?
Request the book be sent to you via our InterLibrary Loan Service!
How to submit a request:
1. Check to make sure the book is not available within the NOBLE libraries. Search all NOBLE libraries.
If you locate the book, click on the button and follow the online instructions to request the material.
2. Couldn't find the book using the link in step one?
Fill out the InterLibrary Loan Book Request form.
The Library will contact you when the book arrives. Arrival times vary from several days to several weeks.