Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Open Educational Resources: Open Journals

A guide for faculty to locate quality open content for their courses.

Open Educational Resources Guide Key

 Open - free to use and repurpose

 Free - free to use

 Affordable - available at low cost

 Free North Shore - available to NSCC students and faculty

Contact Us

Do you have a comment or question about the Open Educational Resources guide? Contact us at library@northshore.edu.

Digital Commons Network

Digital Commons Network | Free full-text scholarly articles The Digital Commons Network brings together scholarship from hundreds of universities and colleges, providing open access to peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work. This constantly growing body of publications is curated by university librarians and their supporting institutions, and represents thousands of disciplines and subject areas.

Open Access Journals Search Engine

 Open Access Journals Search Engine (OAJSE) Open access journals around the world (with a separate list for India). Search, or browse by discipline.

BASE

BASE is one of the world's most voluminous search engines especially for academic open access web resources. BASE is operated by Bielefeld University Library.

In comparison to commercial search engines, BASE is charcterised by the following features:

  • Intellectually selected resources
  • Only document servers that comply with the specific requirements of academic quality and relevance are included
  • data resources inventory provides transparency in the searches
  • Discloses web resources of the "Deep Web", which are ignored by commercial search engines or get lost in the vast quantity of hits.
  • The display of search results includes precise bibliographic data
  • Several options for sorting the result list
  • "Refine your search result" options (by author, subject, DDC, year of publication, collection, language and document type)
  • Browsing by DDC (Dewey Decimal Classification) and document type.

Open Doar

OpenDOAR is an authoritative directory of academic open access repositories. Each OpenDOAR repository has been visited by project staff to check the information that is recorded here. This in-depth approach does not rely on automated analysis and gives a quality-controlled list of repositories.

DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals


 
The DOAJ aims to be comprehensive and cover all open access scientific and scholarly journals that use a quality control system to guarantee the content. Probably the most well-known open access journal database.

  

Scholarly Open Access List of Publishers

 Scholarly Open Access List of Publishers  A Critical analysis of scholarly open-access publishing. This is a list of questionable, scholarly open-access publishers. We recommend that scholars read the available reviews, assessments and descriptions provided here, and then decide for themselves whether they want to submit articles, serve as editors or on editorial boards.

Open Access Journals OMICS Group

 Open Access Journals OMICS Group OMICS Group International through its Open Access Initiative is committed to make genuine and reliable contributions to the scientific community. OMICS Group hosts over 300 leading-edge peer reviewed Open Access Journals and organizes over 100 International Conferences annually all over the world.

Free North Shore Journals

EBSCO A - Z indexes the titles of full text holdings of NSCC library electronic and print journal collections