Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Open Educational Resources: Open Images

A guide for faculty to locate quality open content for their courses.

Open Educational Resources Guide Key

 Open - free to use and repurpose

 Free - free to use

 Affordable - available at low cost

 Free North Shore - available to NSCC students and faculty

Contact Us

Do you have a comment or question about the Open Educational Resources guide? Contact us at library@northshore.edu.

The Met - Art

the met The Met Museum announced that a"All images of public domain artworks in the Metropolitan Museum of Art's collection - about 375,000 - are now free for anyone to use however they may please. The museum has changed its open access policy to allow free, unrestricted use of any images of artworks in the public domain, using the license designation Creative Commons Zero, known as CCO.

open

National Gallery of Art

national gallery of art

NGA Images is a repository of digital images of the collections of the National Gallery of Art. More than 45,000 open access digital images up to 4000 pixels each are available free of charge for download and use.

open

Flickr

Flickr is a photo-sharing site.

Use Flickr’s advanced search to limit results to and open content that can be modified, adapted or built upon.

  

Google Images

Google’s Advanced Image Search allows you to filter by Usage Rights.

    

Free North Shore

Use the Credo Reference Image Search to extract images from authorative online reference sources.

Includes art, science and medical images, as well as historical photographs and atlas pages.

Proper attribution is required and hyperlinking back to the database is recommended.

 

Public Domain Pictures

public domain pictures

PublicDomainPictures.net is a repository for free public domain images. Photos can easily be browsed by various categories, including professional or seasonal photos.

public domain photos .com

Public-Domain-Photos.com contains 5,000 free photos and 8,000 free clipart images.

free  open

British Library

British LibraryThe British Library has recently released over a million images taken from books dating back to the 17th, 18th, and 19th century. 

ImageAfter

image after

Image*After is a large online free photo collection. You can download and use any image or texture from our site and use it in your own work, either personal or commercial.

open

Titania Photo

titania photo

Titania Foto is a good resource for photos of landscapes, cities, nature, food, and beverages. Registration is not required to download the images. Most of the site is in German.

free

KaboomPics

kaboom pics

KaboomPics has everything you need to create fabulous content. Free images of the highest quality, constantly growing image database, a powerful search engine. To every photo, they add a color palette with free graphics for download. There are images available in every size, division according to photo sessions, 100% security, blog, and much more - all in one photo bank.

free

DesignerPics

designer pics
DesignerPics - Free Hi-Res photos for your personal & commercial use. Attribution not required.

free

Wikimedia Commons

Wikimedia Commons is a database of freely usable media content, including images, to which anyone can contribute. 

  

U.S. Government Photos & Images

U.S. Government Photos & Images links to government agency sites that contain photo and image collections.

Some of these photos are in the public domain or U.S. government works and may be used without permission or fee, but some images may be protected by license or copyright. Read the disclaimers on each site before using images.

    

Open Clip Art Library

Openclipart is a community of artists whose collection of clip art has been released into the public domain.

You can copy, modify, distribute and perform the work, even for commercial purposes, all without asking permission. 

 

Pixabay

With Pixabay find, share and use photos, clipart, and vector graphics.

Works on Pixabay have been released into the public domain. You can use any image from this website in digital and printed format, for personal and commercial use, without an attribution requirement to the original author.

 

Free Photos Bank

free photos bank

FreePhotosBank offers royalty-free photos which don’t require to name the author or source. Registration is not required. The images can be downloaded in high resolution.

Any photos/pictures posted by the author “freephotosbank” are free to use as long as you are using them for a website, book, magazine, etc. You cannot download our photos to sell as is or modified from any source. To use our photos/pictures you must accredit us on the work that you used the photo/picture on/in for the use of them or we will consider it a copyright infringement.

Pics 4 Learning

pics4learning

Pics4Learning is a curated image library that is safe and free for education. Teachers and students can use the copyright-friendly photos and illustrations for classroom projects, websites, videos, portfolios, or any other projects in an educational setting.

Morgue File

morguefile

Morguefile is a free photo archive “for creatives, by creatives.” Founded by Michael Connors in the early Internet days of 1996, the site was created to serve as a free image exchange for creative professionals and teachers to use in their work. This same mission remains true today: we are a community-based free photo site, and all photos found in the Morguefile archive are free for you to download and re-use in your work, be it commercial or not. The photos have been contributed by a wide range of creatives from around the world, ranging from amateur photo hobbyists to professionals.

open

Every Stock Photo

every stock photo

Every Stock Photo is a search engine for free photos. These come from many sources and are license-specific. You can view a photo's license by clicking on the license icon, below and left of photos. Membership is free and allows you to rate, tag, collect and comment on photos.

Affordable  free  open

SplitShire

split shire

SplitShire offers outstanding photo quality in usually high resolution. Hundreds of free stock photos and videos.

free

PLiXS

PLiXS PLiXS is an online photo community for creative people who want to share their fantastic impressions with other enthusiasm artists. All uploaded works licensed with the creative commons attribution

free  open