Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Open Educational Resources: Open Videos

A guide for faculty to locate quality open content for their courses.

Open Educational Resources Guide Key

 Open - free to use and repurpose

 Free - free to use

 Affordable - available at low cost

 Free North Shore - available to NSCC students and faculty

Contact Us

Do you have a comment or question about the Open Educational Resources guide? Contact us at library@northshore.edu.

Moving Image Archive

   Download & Streaming : Moving Image Archive : Internet Archive  Archive's Moving Images library of free movies, films, and videos. This library contains digital movies uploaded by Archive users which range from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts. Many of these videos are available for free download. Select Community Video for some open access videos.

 

Open Video Project

 The Open Video Project  The purpose of the Open Video Project is to collect and make available a repository of digitized video content for the digital video, multimedia retrieval, digital library, and other research communities.

Bottled Video

 Free Stock Footage by bottledvideo.com Over 10,000 Free Stock Footage video clips. All Free Stock Footage video clips are Broadcast Quality, Online, and 100% Free to Download and Use.

Free North Shore Video

Films on DemandOver 6,200 full-length programs and 65,800 video segments streamed on demand from Films for the Humanities, BBC, CBC, PBS and others. Subjects include humanities, science, business, health, technical education, careers and counseling. Watch an entire episode, or just one indexed segment keyed to your search. Free for NSCC students, faculty and staff.

TED

TED

TED  is a nonprofit devoted to spreading ideas, usually in the form of short, powerful talks (18 minutes or less). TED began in 1984 as a conference where Technology, Entertainment and Design converged, and today covers almost all topics — from science to business to global issues — in more than 100 languages. Meanwhile, independently run TEDx events help share ideas in communities around the world.

 

Openculture

Openculture.com provides hundred of free movies divided into categories such as Comedy & Drama; Film Noir, Horror & Hitchcock; Westerns, Silent Films; Documentaries, and Animation. They also have special collections of Oscar Winning Movies and Films by Andrei Tarkovsky and Charlie Chaplin.

Top Documentary Films

 

Top Documentary Films includes documentaries related to history, politics, religion, science and society. Overall at Top Documentary Films you can find 2100+ (more to come) stunning, eyeopening and interesting documentaries.

 Free - free to use

Vimeo

 Vimeo Public domain videos from Vimeo. The idea of this channel is to create a completely free library of HD footage that can be used by anyone for anything.

  

Blip TV

 Blip.tv Blip has cultivated a community of 2000+ independent producers around the world who are producing their own original series and using Blip tools to showcase and distribute them across the web. Several types of creative commons licenses are available.

Yovisto

Yovisto is a video search engine specialized on educational video content. It is helpful for students or common interested peoples to looking for online lectures and educational video. Yovisto allows searching within videos. Furthermore, there are many other features as, e.g., tagging, adding comments, discussing uploading videos and organizing your videos, etc.

FreeDocumentaries

Freedocumentaries.org offers hundreds of free documentaries for viewing.