Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Open Educational Resources: Open Books

A guide for faculty to locate quality open content for their courses.

Open Educational Resources Guide Key

 Open - free to use and repurpose

 Free - free to use

 Affordable - available at low cost

 Free North Shore - available to NSCC students and faculty

Contact Us

Do you have a comment or question about the Open Educational Resources guide? Contact us at library@northshore.edu.

Project Gutenberg

Project Gutenberg houses over 42,000 free eBooks whose copyright has expired and are now in the public domain.  The majority of the eBooks are classics that can be used in humanties and social sciences courses.  To locate an eBook, you can search the entire catalog or browse by book categories such as:

  • Education
  • Fine Arts
  • History
  • Literature
  • Law
  • Music
  • Political Science
  • Psychology
  • Philosophy
  • Religion
  • Science
  • Technology   

The eBooks can be read online or downloaded to be read on various devices (Kindle, Android, iPad, Nook, etc.) 

Open Access - free to use and repurpose

Internet Archive Digital Books Collection

The Internet Archive is an online archive of millions of books and texts in the public domain.

Digitized content is submitted from archives, museums, libraries and individuals.

Open Access - free to use and repurpose

Directory of Open Access Books

Free North Shore Books

ebook central

 

Ebook Central is one of our databases containing over 20,000 online books covering all NSCC academic disciplines including Nursing and Allied Health, Computer Technology, Business, Criminal Justice, College Success, Testing Guides and Career Information.

Openculture

Openculture provides links to free audio ebooks, ebooks for kindle/iPad and other devices as well. There is a large advertisement at the top of the page, but scroll down to see the list of free resources.

ManyBooks.net

 

 

 

ManyBooks.net includes ebooks from Project Gutenberg, public domain titles and titles with creative commons licenses.

An advantage to ManyBooks.net is the abundance of file format types the user can select to download their ebook or audiobook. 

 Open Access - free to use and repurpose  

Open Library

 

 

 

OpenLibrary is a free, digital lending library with millions of eBooks that can be read in a browser or downloaded for reading offline. Originally developed to support the Print Disabled community, OpenLibrary now contains public domain and contemporary eBooks. 

Look for the open book icon    for books that can be read online or downloaded in various formats.

 Open Access - free to use and repurpose  

Google Books

 

 

Use Google Books' Advanced Book Search and select the limiter Full View Only to see free and open ebooks available through Google's massive digitization project.

Depending on the title, you will see options for linking to, embedding, or downloading PDF or EPUB formats. 

Open Access - free to use and repurpose  Free - free to use