Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

CMP101 - Composition 1 - LeBlanc: Library Databases

Snap! Search

Our new SNAP! Search makes finding information and credible sources a breeze. Search almost all of our databases at once with this powerful search. Here, you’ll find journals, books, videos, magazines, and more all in one search.

Background Reading

Use our reference databases to access encyclopedia type articles about your city or town. When you search a city name, you may get articles about famous individual associated with the town, articles on the town itself , or articles about important locations in and around the town. Background reading give you ideas for keywords to search in other library databases for more targeted results.

General OneFile

Try searching your city or town in General OneFile, a database that pulls articles from magazines, books, and newspapers. Try adding keywords such as the name of an important person in your towns history, or a famous or annual event.

Interlibrary Loan for articles

Did you find an article you would like to use for your research, but we don't have full text access?

You may request the book be sent to you via our InterLibrary Loan Service.

How to submit a request:

1. Check to make sure the journal and the full text article is not available through another NSCC database. Search Full-Text Finder.

If you locate the full text article, click on the full-text access button to open and read the article. 

2. If the full-text article is not available, fill out the InterLibrary Loan Article Request form.