I can't seem to open the article on my computer. What's wrong?
Databases vary in the amount of information they provide. Some will contain full articles (known as full text), and others may only contain citations of articles.
It is possible that the NSCC Library may have online access to the article in a different database than the one you are using.
Search the Library's Journal Locator to see if you can locate the article in another database. IMPORTANT *Search by the TITLE of the journal or magazine, not by the title of the article.*
I am clicking on an ebook or video link that is available full text and it won't display on my screen.
Try switching your browsers. If your in Chrome, try Firefox or IE.
Should I use scholarly or popular sources?
Journals and magazines are important sources for up-to-date information. With database access to large and diverse periodical collections, it is often difficult to distinguish between the various levels of scholarship found in the collections.
There are five main categories for periodical literature:
1. Scholarly
2. Trade/Professional
3. Substantive News/General Interest
4. Popular
5. Sensational
The first three are appropriate for academic research.
Courtesy: National Science Foundation
Search thousands of journals, magazines and newspapers for articles on your topic at one time using subject databases. Each database indexes different sources so try multiple databases when conducting your research.
Search content directly in each of these journals.
Did you find an article source you would like to use for your research, but it is not available full-text in one of the Library’s research databases or in our print journal collection?
You may request the article be sent to you via our InterLibrary Loan Service.
How to submit a request:
1. Check to make sure the article is not available at NSCC. Search the journal article title to see if it is available in print or electronically at the NSCC Libraries.
2. If the journal is not available at the NSCC Libraries, fill out the InterLibrary Loan Article Request form.