Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HIS140 American Environmental History - Burt: Research Help

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Christine Goodchild
she/her
Contact:
Danvers Campus Library, DB 237
978-739-5532
Website

FAQs

What is my Library Card Number?

Your library card number is the 14-digit number beginning with 21991 on the bottom of your NSCC student ID. You also must have had your student ID activated into your library card in order to login off campus.

  

What is my online catalog password?

Your default online catalog password is your birth date. Enter in format: MMDDYYYY.

 

How do I get a NSCC Student ID?

Stop by the Student Life Office in Danvers (DB 132) or Lynn (LW 171) with a current class schedule and a government issued photo ID to receive your NSCC ID.

  

How do I activate my student ID into a library card?

Bring your ID into the Library and ask to have it activated at one of the Services desks.

 

I am getting a cookies error message, what does that mean?

If you receive a Cookies Error Message when using the Library's research databases, you need to enable your browser to Accept All Cookies. 

Try a Google search on "enabling cookies" and "your browser name" for instructions.

 

I can't seem to open the article on my computer. What's wrong?

Databases vary in the amount of information they provide. Some will contain full articles (known as full text), and others may only contain citations of articles.

It is possible that the NSCC Library may have online access to the article in a different database than the one you are using.

Search the Library's Journal Locator to see if you can locate the article in another database. IMPORTANT *Search by the TITLE of the journal or magazine, not by the title of the article.*

 

I am clicking on an ebook or video link that is available full text and it won't display on my screen.

Try switching your browsers. If your in Chrome, try Firefox or IE.  

 

Should I use scholarly or popular sources?

Journals and magazines are important sources for up-to-date information. With database access to large and diverse periodical collections, it is often difficult to distinguish between the various levels of scholarship found in the collections.

There are five main categories for periodical literature:

1. Scholarly

2. Trade/Professional

3. Substantive News/General Interest

4. Popular

5. Sensational

The first three are appropriate for academic research.

The document below adapted from Cornell University Library describes in detail the attributes for each category.

Online Chat Reference

Chat with a librarian online and instantly get your questions answered.

Our offline email is ask_librarian@northshore.edu.

Consult with a Librarian

Reference Staff is available all hours the Library is open to consult with you on your research.

 

Danvers Library Hours

Mon - Thur: 8:00am to 8:30pm
Fri: 8:00am to 4:00pm
Saturday: 8:30am to 12:00pm
Closed Sunday
(978) 739-5525

Lynn Library Hours

Mon - Thur: 8:00am to 8:30pm
Fri: 8:00am to 4:00pm
Saturday: 8:30am to 12:00pm
Closed Sunday
(781) 477-2133