Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Database Search Tips
Databases vary in the amount of information they provide. Some will contain full articles (known as full text), and others may only contain citations of articles.
It is possible that the NSCC Library may have online access to a journal in a different database than the one you are using.
The Library's Journal Finder will tell you if Library holdings include the full text of a particular journal, and whether it is available electronically or in print.
Article Search Tips
- Use "AND" to refine your search and narrow the number of results. Example: veterinary AND anesthesia
- To search a phrase, enclose the terms in quotation marks. Example: "small animal"
- To find all possible word endings add *. Example: infect* finds infects, infected, infection, infecting, etc.
- Too many results? Search the terms in the subject field, rather than all search fields.
Understanding Levels of Scholarship in Periodicals
Journals and magazines are important sources for up-to-date information in all disciplines. With database access to large and diverse periodical collections, it is often difficult to distinguish between the various levels of scholarship found in the collections.
There are five main categories for periodical literature: Scholarly, Trade/Professional, Substantive News/General Interest, Popular, and Sensational.
The document below adapted from Cornell University Library describes the attributes for each category.
Veterinary Technology Research Databases
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A wide range of full-text journals, includes peer-reviewed content of veterinary technology related topics. NSCC Login required.
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
A large multidisciplinary database, includes broad coverage of veterinary technology related magazines and journals. NSCC Login required.
PubMed is an article database of biomedical and life sciences journal literature, including animal health, from the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).
Health and Medicine This link opens in a new window
Includes scholarly and professional journals and magazines on veterinary and animal science related topics. NSCC Login required.
Medline This link opens in a new window
Includes the National Library of Medicine's authoritative information on veterinary medicine. NSCC Login required.
Biomedical Reference Collection This link opens in a new window
Includes biomedical and life science journal literature, including studies related to animal health. NSCC Login required.
Agriculture Collection This link opens in a new window
Includes journals and professional magazines related to all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including animal and veterinary sciences. NSCC Login required.
AGRICOLA is the catalog of the National Agricultural Library, includes resources in all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines: including animal sciences, veterinary sciences and environmental sciences.
InterLibrary Loan Service
Did you find an article source you would like to use for your research, but it is not available full-text in one of the Library’s research databases or in our print journal collection?
You may request the article be sent to you via our InterLibrary Loan Service.
How to submit a request:
1. Check to make sure the article is not available at NSCC. Search the journal article title to see if it is available in print or electronically at the NSCC Libraries.
2. If the journal is not available at the NSCC Libraries, fill out the InterLibrary Loan Article Request form.