Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

SOC106 - Introduction to Sociology - Smith: Home

Library Hours

COVID-19

During this pandemic, the Libraries have moved online. Our Reference Librarians are available Monday - Thursday 8:00 am - 8:00 pm and Friday 8:00 am - 4:00 pm.

Click on the icon below for assistance.

Get help

Course Textbook

essentials of sociology textbook

The Lynn Campus Library has a copy of your textbook on Reserve in the Library. You can only use it in the Library, and you must have a valid NSCC student ID with you to use it.

Stuck? Ask a Librarian

Need help with your research? 

Libanswers

Contact us!

.

Sociology Topics

Literature Databases

Try our new Snap Search to look for resources on your topic. Here, you will find books, academic journals, videos, newspapers, magazines, and more from most of our databases. In some cases, you might need to search individual databases but most often this will give you what you need.

snap search

Use the EDS limiters to narrow down your results by selecting source types, subjects, date ranges and more. These limiters will be located on the left side of your results.

You can also use the Advanced Search to refine your search results. 

eds advance search

The TX All Text option will give you more results by searching the full-text of the document for your search terms. Use caution with the other options in this list, they may not do what you think they should. For most searches, it's best not to select an option. Use the TX option when you don't get any or many results.

Begin your search using some of our book sources. These databases contain articles and chapters from books that cover literary topics.

Continue your research using our article databases where you can find more in-depth and specific information on titles, authors, and themes.

Also, try some of our general databases for more information on your topic. These databases contain some different sources than those listed above that can be useful. Most of these have an option to narrow your results to scholarly or peer-reviewed articles.

​​​Access to many of the database links on this guide requires NSCC authentication - users must sign in with their NSCC My Northshore (formerly Pipeline) username & password

If you want to place any library materials on hold, request a book from another library, or check out any physical library materials out you will need to have your NSCC ID card.

Stop by the Student Life Office in Danvers (DB 132) or Lynn (LW 171) with a current class schedule and a picture ID to get an NSCC ID.

Subject Guide

Torrey Dukes's picture
Torrey Dukes
Contact:
North Shore Community College
Lynn Campus Library
1 Ferncroft Rd
Danvers, MA 01923
781-593-6722 ext.6244
Website