Literature Research - LIT 208 World Literature II - Folk - NSCC Library at North Shore Community College

Appropriate sources

Outside sources will consist primarily of book sources and journal articles.

Literature essays from books and reference titles that contain analysis of a work will be useful sources.
Scholarly articles from literature journals will also be valuable sources for your research.
When you find a really good article on your topic - mine the bibliography. This is a quick way to add additional relevant, related, authoritative sources to your paper.

Library Catalog Search

Find books, ebooks, DVDs and streaming videos available through the NSCC Libraries and our partner libraries in HELM.

Interlibrary Loan

Did you find a book source you would like to use for your research, but it is not available in the HELM network of libraries?

You may request the book be sent to you via our InterLibrary Loan Service.

How to submit a request:

1. Check to make sure the book is not available within the HELM libraries. Search all HELM libraries.

If you locate the book, click on the button and follow the online instructions to request the material. Note: Material may take up to a week to arrive.

2. If the book is only available outside the HELM library system, fill out the InterLibrary Loan Book Request form.

SNAP! Search

Our new SNAP! Search allows you to search many of our databases at the same time in one powerful search. This search will find books, ebooks, academic articles, news, and video content.

SNAP! Search

Literature Databases

Search in these databases to find critical and analytical articles about your author's work.

Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Contains reference books, literary journals and magazines. Use if you want outside critique on a work, a work overview (some summary and analysis), or biographical information on an author.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR contains literary criticism in the form of scholarly articles from literature journals. Use this database if you are looking for scholarly articles on a literature topic. Use advanced search for best results.
Bloom's Literary Criticism This link opens in a new window
Excellent resource for literary criticism and information about literature and authors. Provides access to critical content published by noted scholars in the Bloom's Literary Criticism series.

Where to start?

Find links to Bloom's ebooks or introductory sources for all the authors on your list. These sources will provide you with background reading on your author, an overview of their work, as well as some analysis and criticism,

Fyodor Dostoevsky by Harold Bloom (Editor)
ISBN: 9781438115993
Publication Date: 2009-01-01
Includes a brief biography of Fyodor Dostoevsky, critical views and plot summaries of four of his novels, and an index of themes and ideas.
Franz Kafka by Harold Bloom (Editor)
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9781438116150
Publication Date: 2009-01-01
Presents a brief biography of Franz Kafka, thematic and structural analysis of his works, critical views, and an index of themes and ideas. Examined in this text are Kafka's "The Metamorphosis," "The Judgment," "In the Penal Colony," "A Hunger Artist," and "Josephine the Singer and the Mousefolk."
Virginia Woolf by Harold Bloom (Editor)
ISBN: 9781438115481
Publication Date: 2009-01-01
Presents a biography of Virginia Woolf along with critical views of her work.
Doris Lessing by Harold Bloom (Editor)
ISBN: 9781438112893
Publication Date: 2009-01-01
Presents a collection of critical essays on the works of Doris Lessing. Her fiction shifted between realistic, mystical, and science fiction, and achieved a statement of political and social consequence with each book.
Native American Women Writers by Harold Bloom
ISBN: 0585266727
Publication Date: 1998-01-01
History, analysis, and criticism of prominent Native American Women Writers, including: Paula Gunn Allen -- Maria Campbell -- Louise Erdrich -- Joy Harjo -- Linda Hogan -- E. Pauline Johnson -- Mourning Dove -- Wendy Rose -- Leslie Marmon Silko -- Sarah Winnemucca -- Zitkala-Sa.
Salman Rushdie by Harold Bloom (Editor)
ISBN: 9781438113463
Publication Date: 2009-01-01
Presents a collection of critical essays on the works of Salman Rushdie, known for his controversial novel "The Satanic Verses." Rushdie brings to his novels the perspective of a South Asian expatriate caught between the diverse cultures of the East and West.
Magill's Survey of World Literature - Rainer Maria Rilke by Steven G. Kellman; Frank N. Magill; Salem Press Editors
ISBN: 9781587654312
Publication Date: 2009-01-30
Presents works, biography and analysis of Rainer Maria Rilke. Rilke, a twentieth century lyric poet, infused his writing with his own personal myth of omniscient and omnipotent feeling.

Themes and Techniques in Eileen Chang's Stories
An examination of Chang's short fiction that explores the themes, imagery, metaphors, symbolism, and narration in her works

LIT 208 World Literature II - Folk: Literature Research

Research Paper Assignment

Your assignment asks you to choose an author and approach/method and write a 4-6 page research paper. You need to write a focused thesis statement and to integrate at least two secondary/outside sources in addition to the primary text source.