Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

CMP102 - Composition 2 - LeBlanc: Annotated Bibliographies - A Step-by-Step guide

Steps to an Annotated Bibliography

refworks logo

RefWorks is our new citation management tool that will help you organize your sources and create "Works Cited","References", or "Bibliography" pages in a variety of different styles.

Set up your RefWorks account using the coupon code np1x-8x21 and your North Shore email.

Once you have set up your account, you can begin to collect your sources directly from Library databases or by entering the source information manually. RefWorks collects all the citation information you need and provides a link back to the source.

Choose your sources Before writing your annotated bibliography, you must choose your sources. This involves doing research much like for any other project.  

Stop searching and start finding. Search most of our resources at once and find what you need.

EDS search

Use the EDS limiters to narrow down your results by selecting source types, subjects, date ranges and more. These limiters will be located on the left side of your results.

You can also use the Advanced Search to refine your search results. 

eds advance search

The TX All Text option will give you more results by searching the full-text of the document for your search terms. Use caution with the other options in this list, they may not do what you think they should. For most searches, it's best not to select an option. Use the TX option when you don't get any or many results.

  • Review the items Then review the actual items and choose those that provide a wide variety of perspectives on your topic. Article abstracts are helpful in this process.

    • If you are not finding the information you need - try changing your search terms, or try using another database. *Don’t waste your time with an ineffective search.*
       

  • Collect the source Use the email function in the databases to collect your sources. This way you'll be able to go back to the source if needed to get the citation.

  • Capture the citation Use RefWorks to collect your sources. Most of our databases work seamlessly with RefWorks to format your citations. Look for options in the databases such as “Citation Tools” or “Export”.

If the database does not connect to RefWorks, use the RIS option or the email function to collect your sources. You can add citations from your email after exporting your list.

Once you have all your sources in RefWorks, check off the items you would like to add to your bibliography and click "Create Bibliography" and click "Create Bibliography" again, from the pop-up menu.

  

 Choose your Style guide from the drop-down list.

 Most classes at NSCC use MLA 8th Edition or APA 6th Edition

 If you are not sure which one to pick, ask your Professor.

When you are finished, click "Copy to Clipboard" and paste your bibliography at the end of your paper.

 

 

 

 

 

   Formatting your Annotated Bibliography You will use your Works Cited page to create your Annotated Bibliography.

Change the heading Works Cited to Annotated Bibliography

Write the annotation When writing your annotation, the complete citation should always come first and the annotation follows. Depending on the type of annotated bibliography you are writing, you will want to include:

  1. The purpose of the work

  2. A summary of its content

  3. For what type of audience the work is written

  4. Its relevance to the topic

  5. Any special or unique features about the material

  6. The strengths, weaknesses or biases in the material

  7. Explain why you chose the article and how it helps you develop your topic. - This qualitative piece is the most important part of the annotation.

For each article you’ve chosen you will have a citation followed by your annotation.

RefWorks will format the page, all you need to do is add your annotations in your Word or Google Doc

Here is an example of an entry from an annotated bibliography in MLA style:

 

Hamori, Esther J. "Echoes of Gilgamesh in the Jacob Story." Journal of Biblical Literature 130.4 (2011): 625-42.
    Web. 20 May 2015.

The article presents an examination into the Biblical Old Testament story of the patriarch Jacob, highlighting the thematic parallels seen between the struggles of the patriarch and the ancient Near Eastern narrative of the Epic of Gilgamesh. Of particular interest were the comparisons to themes utilized in the wrestling matches, and the physical descriptions of the participants. This article was  useful for developing my research on the significance of the relationship between Gilgamesh and Enkidu.

Formatting your Annotated Bibliography You will use your Works Cited page to create your Annotated Bibliography.

Change the heading Works Cited to Annotated Bibliography

Write the annotation When writing your annotation, the complete citation should always come first and the annotation follows. Depending on the type of annotated bibliography you are writing, you will want to include:

  1. The purpose of the work

  2. A summary of its content

  3. For what type of audience the work is written

  4. Its relevance to the topic

  5. Any special or unique features about the material

  6. The strengths, weaknesses or biases in the material

  7. Explain why you chose the article and how it helps you develop your topic. - This qualitative piece is the most important part of the annotation.

For each article you’ve chosen you will have a citation followed by your annotation.

RefWorks will format the page, all you need to do is add your annotations in your Word or Google Doc