About the Organization - FFL100 - Nonprofit Organizations - NSCC Library at North Shore Community College

National or International Organizations

Academic Search Premier is a large database of general and subject specific magazines and newspapers. Use this database to find articles if you are researching a national or international nonprofit organization.

Click on the Advanced Search Link. Select Company Entity from the select a field drop down menu. Limit to full text results.

Try combining a search on your organization with key terms like fundraising, history, etc...

Local Organizations

Search the Boston Globe database of current and archived articles to find news information on a local organization.

TIP: Click on the Advanced Search Link. Select Company/Organization from the field code drop down menu.

Library Catalog Search

Find books, ebooks, DVDs and streaming videos available through the NSCC Libraries and our partner libraries in HELM.

The Organization's Website

Your organization's website will be a rich source of information for your report.

Key areas on the website you will certainly want to look at include:

the "about us" or "who we are" section. This area should include the mission statement and history of the organization.
publications page for any financial or annual reports on your organization

Beverly Bootstraps
Provides critical resources to families and individuals so they may achieve self-sufficiency. They offer emergency & long-term assistance including: access to food, housing stability, adult & youth education, counseling & advocacy.
Boys & Girls Club
Organization to inspire and enable all young people, especially those from disadvantaged circumstances.
Catholic Charities USA
One of the largest providers of social services in Massachusetts, Catholic Charities of Boston offers nearly 90 programs and services in 27 locations around Eastern Massachusetts.
HAWC
HAWC has a two-fold mission: to support the healing process of abuse and to change social norms and behaviors that perpetuate violence and oppression.
Jimmy Fund
The Jimmy Fund solely supports Boston's Dana-Farber Cancer Institute, raising funds for adult and pediatric cancer care and research
Mass Coalition for the Homeless
he mission of the Massachusetts Coalition for the Homeless is to eradicate homelessness from the Commonwealth of Massachusetts.
My Brother's Table
The largest soup kitchen on the North Shore, has provided over 2.9 million hot, free meals and outreach to men, women and children in need
Northeast Animal Shelter
The Northeast Animal Shelter a no-kill animal shelters for puppies, kittens, cats, and dogs
Northeast ARC
The Northeast Arc helps people with disabilities become full participants in the community; choosing for themselves how to live, learn, work, socialize and play.
North Shore Community Action Programs
Provides social services that enable low-income families and individuals to obtain the skills and knowledge they need to become economically self-sufficient, civically engaged, and to live in dignity and decency.
ROCA, Inc
Roca’s mission is to disrupt the cycle of incarceration and poverty by helping young people transform their lives.
YMCA
You may want to search for the YMCA of Greater Boston, or your local Y

GuideStar

Guidestar
Provides access to information covering more than 1.5 million nonprofit organizations. You can verify a nonprofit's legitimacy, learn whether a contribution will be tax deductible, view a nonprofit's recent Forms 990 (filed with the Internal Revenue Service), or find out more about a nonprofit's mission, programs, and finances.
Additional levels of service are available for additional fees or paid subscriptions.

Find Streaming Videos

Kanopy streaming video This link opens in a new window
Access documentaries, training films, and educational films on various subjects. Includes classic films, PBS, Great Courses, California Newsreel, the Criterion Collection, indie films, and world cinema from award-winning filmmakers.