Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Open Educational Resources Guide Key
Open - free to use and repurpose
Free - free to use
Affordable - available at low cost
Free North Shore - available to NSCC students and faculty
Consumer Price Index
Consumer Price Index (U.S. Department of Labor Bureau of Labor Statistics): http://www.bls.gov/cpi/
CPI provides monthly data on prices paid by consumers for goods and services.
EDGAR (Electronic Data Gathering, Analysis and Retrieval): U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC): http://www.sec.gov/edgar.shtml#.VRqufvnF-So
EDGAR contains statements, periodic reports and other forms filed by all companies, foreign and domestic.
Investopedia provides a dictionary of terms related to business, finance and the economy, as well as graphs and articles on many aspects of the business world.
Mass.gov Administration & Finance
DataFerrett is a data analysis and extraction tool that is used to customize federal, state, and local data. An unlimited number of customized spreadsheets can be created and in turn be transformed into graphs and maps without the need for additional software.
EH.Net: Economic History Association: http://eh.net/encyclopedia/
EH.Net provides an encyclopedia and articles related to various topics in economic history.
MarketWatch contains up-to-the-minute data from stock markets all over the world. Also included are charts and articles on various economic topics, from the Fed, personal finance, real estate, etc.
World Bank Open Data provides access to graphs, charts and articles on economic development in countries around the globe.