Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

LIT206 - World Literature 1: Ancient World to Eighteenth Century - Folk: Outside (Secondary) Sources

Appropriate sources

Outside sources will consist primarily of book sources and journal articles.

  • Literature essays from books and reference titles that contain analysis of a work will be useful sources.
  • Scholarly articles from literature journals will also be valuable sources for your research. 
    • TIP! Mine bibliographies (listing of source references) of great articles.  This is a quick way to add additional revelant, related, authoritative sources to your paper.  

Literature Research Databases

Search these for: articles and books that will contain analysis or interpretation of key works in literature

Artemis Literary Sources

 

Artemis Literary Sources contains literary criticism in the form of scholarly journal articles from literature journals, books with literary essays, and also reference sources that contain brief analysis.

Note: If asked for a single password when signing in off campus, enter in the barcode number on your student ID.

Citations: Click on  then export to EasyBib.

 

Literary commentary covering classic and popular authors and their works across regions, eras, and genres by excerpting what critics have written about them in journals, magazines, newspapers, books, encyclopedias, broadsheets, and pamphlets. Provides the contents of Gale's various Literary Criticism multi-volume sets

Literary Reference Center

Literary Reference Center contains literary criticism in the form of scholarly journal articles from literature journals, books with literary essays, and also reference sources that contain brief analysis.

Citations: Click on to send your citations to EasyBib.

Publications included are: reference books, literary journals and magazines. Search for secondary analysis of a work (criticism) and author biographies.

Literature Resource Center

Contains reference books, literary journals and magazines. Use if you want outside critique on a work, a work overview (some summary and analysis), or biographical information on an author.

Citations: Click on  then export to EasyBib.

Contains reference books, literary journals and magazines. Use if you want outside critique on a work, a work overview (some summary and analysis), or biographical information on an author.
JSTOR

JSTOR contains literary criticism in the form of scholarly articles from literature journals.

Citations: Copy and paste the journal article title from JSTOR to the Journal tab in EasyBib and click the "Cite This" button. Choose the JSTOR tab from the results list. Select the appropriate citation and click "Cite This" button. Click "Generate Citation" button at the bottom of the template.

Use this database if you are looking for scholarly articles on a literature topic. Use advanced search for best results. 

Other Secondary Sources

Search the NSCC Libraries Collections

Search this for: book sources that contain literary essays 

TIP: search by title of work or author and add the term criticism / interpretation / analysis / study

 

  

* To have a book transferred from one campus library to the other, contact a library staff member for assistance.

 If you locate a book outside of the NSCC Libraries that is available to borrow, click on the  button and follow the online instructions to request the material. Material may take up to a week to arrive.

Bloom's Literary Criticisms