NSCC Library: Psychology Research Guide: Recommended Resources

Getting Started

Use reference databases and books to answer important background questions about your topic.

Questions to ask during background research:

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference finds context or background information for topics. Interactive Mind Maps identify closely related concepts and keywords associated with a topic.
Health and Wellness Resource Center This link opens in a new window
A Consumer Health resource. Strongest in reference content, but also includes journals, magazines, and multimedia. Consider for an image resource.

Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition, Text Revision (DSM-5-TR(tm)) by American Psychiatric Association
Call Number: Ready Reference
ISBN: 9780890425763
Publication Date: 2022-03-18
Ask at the Danvers or Lynn Library Main Desk to use the new DSM-5-TR. The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition, Text Revision (DSM-5-TR) is the most definitive resource for the diagnosis and classification of mental disorders.
Dc: 0-5 by Zero to Three (Organization) Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: Ready Reference
ISBN: 9781938558573
Publication Date: 2016-11-01
Ask at the Lynn or Danvers Library Main Desk to use the DC: 0 -5. DC:0-5 is designed to help mental health and other professionals:--recognize mental health and developmental challenges in infants and young children, through 5 years old.

SNAP!Search: Ebsco Discovery Service This link opens in a new window
In a single search, this tool provides an interdisciplinary approach to your research results. Searches across subject database collections, library locations, and format types.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Find scholarly, peer-reviewed sources for a broad range of subjects in the fields of psychology, behavioral sciences and related disciplines.
Psychology Collection This link opens in a new window
Find scholarly sources in all fields of psychology— abnormal, biological, cognitive, comparative, developmental, personality, quantitative, social, and all areas of applied psychology.
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
Covers the latest concepts, theories and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Search a wide range of full-text journals, magazines, books, reports, conference proceedings and Associated Press videos. Includes peer-reviewed content for STEM research, the social sciences, and humanities.

HELM Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
Search the NSCC Library and HELM Massachusetts college and university libraries for book and media sources.

Kanopy streaming video This link opens in a new window
Access documentaries, training films, and educational films on various subjects. Includes classic films, PBS, Great Courses, California Newsreel, the Criterion Collection, indie films, and world cinema from award-winning filmmakers.
Academic Video Online (AVON) This link opens in a new window
Find videos of documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels. Includes award-winning films, newly released films, and instructional videos.