This page gives an overview of how to use the Opposing Viewpoints database. The Opposing Viewpoints database provides easy access to a variety of topics and types of sources. The information below will guide you through the mechanics of using the database. Looking for something that you can't find? Use the Ask a Librarian form to let us know!
Find credible sources on these and hundreds of other social and political issues with Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints. Unlike websites, this database simplifies your search by bringing together articles, videos, and stats you can trust and cite.
Having a clear, compelling point of view on today’s most debated political and social issues requires finding the most credible facts and insights. Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints simplifies your search by bringing together thousands of resources to provide authoritative articles, research reports, videos, and statistics. This database steers you away from unreliable content that online browsers sometimes serve up and helps you draw your own conclusions about global warming, the minimum wage, and hundreds of other debated topics.
Our Opposing Viewpoints database allows students to browse larger issues by choosing an issue from a list.
The topic pages give an overview of the topic and access to a variety of different types of sources.
The "Viewpoints" articles are great for narrowing down your topic.
Use the "On this Page" menu to access articles, books, videos, and other sources about the topic.
You can also do a keyword search at the top of the page but keep in mind that not all of the results from a keyword search will be about your topic.
There are several ways you can save a document in the Opposing Viewpoints database. There are 2 menus that you can use (shown below) located near the top of the screen.
The Cite option allows you to export the citation information and link to RefWorks.
The Send To option allows you to send the article in an email or save it to your Google or One Drive.
The Download option allows you to download the article to your computer or external drive.
The Print option will format the article for better printing.
To cite a source from Opposing Viewpoints, click on the "Cite" button.
From the citation box, you can select the citation style and copy the citation or export it to Refworks.
If you email a source from Opposing Viewpoints, the MLA citation information will be at the bottom of your email.