Do some background reading to get your mind around your topic. Encyclopedia articles can help you understand your topic at a high level. These resources can give you ideas about related topics or ways to narrow your topic down.
Credo Reference finds context or background information for topics. Interactive Mind Maps identify closely related concepts and keywords associated with a topic. Includes dictionaries and encyclopedias specific to Criminal Justice.
Covers associate program subjects such as computer & data processing, cosmetology, health information technology, criminal justice, paralegal studies, and more. Offers full-text journals and magazines.
Search a wide range of full-text journals, magazines, books, reports, conference proceedings and Associated Press videos. Includes peer-reviewed content for STEM research, the social sciences, and humanities.
Includes Textbooks/Course Reserves which are now available online. The Library provides electronic access to many textbooks and required course materials. Search the NSCC Library and HELM Massachusetts college and university libraries for book and media sources.
Find Streaming Videos
General Video Databases with Criminal Justice Collections
BJS is the primary statistical agency of the Department of Justice. It is one of the thirteen principal federal statistical agencies throughout the Executive Branch, agencies whose activities are predominantly focused on the collection, compilation, processing, or analysis of information for statistical purposes.
NCJRS is a federally funded resource offering justice and substance abuse information to support research, policy, and program development worldwide." It is a clearinghouse of criminal justice information. Topics covered include corrections, courts, drugs, crime, international crime and policing, juvenile justice, law enforcement, and more. Offers free full-text Office of Justice publications.