Skip to main content

BIO 100 - Current Topics in Biology - Cutone: Finding Sources

Finding Sources

Stop searching and start finding. Search most of our resources at once and find what you need.

snap search

Use the EDS limiters to narrow down your results by selecting source types, subjects, date ranges and more. These limiters will be located on the left side of your results.

You can also use the Advanced Search to refine your search results. 

eds advance search

The TX All Text option will give you more results by searching the full-text of the document for your search terms. Use caution with the other options in this list, they may not do what you think they should. For most searches, it's best not to select an option. Use the TX option when you don't get any or many results.

Our databases work much in the same way that Google does. You type your keywords in the search box and the database searches for items that contain your words.

These keywords are very important. Having good keywords can save you a lot of time and frustration. It is not a good idea to type your research question or paper title into the search box. Putting too many keywords in the box will hamper your success.

Think about your topic and pull out the main concepts. Use only these concepts to search for information.

For example, take the following research question.

Can excessive use of social media contribute to addictive behaviors (drugs, tobacco, alcohol) or mental health issues?

 

To find information on this topic you should begin with the search terms: social media and addictive behaviors, or social media and mental health.

Begin with a basic search and use your results to find other search terms to refine your search.


Access to many of the database links on this guide requires NSCC authentication - users must sign in with their NSCC My Northshore (formerly Pipeline) username & password

If you want to place any library materials on hold, request a book from another library, or check out any physical library materials out you will need to have your NSCC ID card.

Stop by the Student Life Office in Danvers (DB 132) or Lynn (LW 171) with a current class schedule and a picture ID to get an NSCC ID.

Science Databases

Science in Context
Contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics. Great database for exploring and focusing topics in science, Click on "Browse Topics" to view a list of science subjects.
 
SNAP! Search
Search across most our databases at once.
 
JSTOR
497 scholarly titles in arts & sciences (JSTOR A&S II + III), and Language & Literature.

Newspaper Databases

1980-current

New York Times
1980-current.

Newspaper Source
Regional, national and international newspapers; television & radio news transcripts.

Medical Databases

All EBSCO Health
Search all of EBSCO's health databases at one time.EBSCO's health databases at one time.

Biomedical Reference Collection: Basic
Full text for over 100 medical journals.

Health and Wellness Resource Center
Nearly 400 health/medical journals, numerous reference volumes, over 700 health videos from partner Healthology, pamphlets and health-related articles from 2,200 general interest publications and reference book content.

Health Reference Center Academic
Diseases, public health, nutrition, etc.

Health Source: Nursing/Academic
Scholarly medical journals and medical dictionary.

Medline
National Library of Medicine's authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine and the health care system.

Psychology & Behavioral Health (Salem Press)
Notable theories, people, social issues, life stages, physiology and anatomy of the nervous system, and various mental illnesses or conditions.

Salem Health Series
Search across all Salem Health online titles: Magill's Medical Guide, Addictions & Substance Abuse, Psychology & Behavioral Health, Psychology & Mental Health

Ovid Nursing Journals
Text, 3D models, illustrations, and animations from OVID. At OVID home page, click on "Visible Body" tab in blue bar at top of screen.