Skip to main content

Guide Tutorial for CMP101: Articles

Tutorial on this guide - Articles

Snap! Search

Our new SNAP! Search makes finding information and credible sources a breeze. Search almost all of our databases at once with this powerful search. Here, you’ll find journals, books, videos, magazines, and more all in one search.

Why Use Articles

Magazines and journals are published more frequently than books. The information is often more current and is easy to locate using library databases.  Journal articles are much more specific and in-depth than many books and magazines. Often journal articles list the sources used to write the article allowing you to find other related sources easliy.

Using Keywords

When searching the library’s databases for resources on your topic, you want to choose your keywords carefully. These words will help you find the information you need quickly. Take a moment and think about your topic. Write down all the words and phrases you can think of. This brainstorming will help you find and organize your information. 

Types of Articles

Should I use scholarly or popular sources?

Journals and magazines are important sources for up-to-date information. With database access to large and diverse periodical collections, it is often difficult to distinguish between the various levels of scholarship found in the collections.

There are five main categories for periodical literature:

1. Scholarly

2. Trade/Professional

3. Substantive News/General Interest

4. Popular

5. Sensational

The first three are appropriate for academic research.

The document below adapted from Cornell University Library describes in detail the attributes for each category.

Databases

Databases index articles, books and videos from thousands of sources. Databases may be organized by subject (e.g. Business, Health) or by format (e.g. ebooks, newspapers). 

Select your database by choosing the aspect (subject) in which you want to view findings on your topic. 

Databases vary in the amount of information they provide. Some will contain full articles (known as full text); others may only contain citations of articles, which may require you to use the Library's Article and Journal Locator to see if NSCC Library owns the print version of the journal or the Library's InterLibrary Loan Service to locate the full article for you.

Research Databases

  • Opposing Viewpoints
    Access pro/con essays from the book series Opposing Viewpoints, At Issue, Current Controversies, and Contemporary Issues Companion; reference material, statistics, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles.
  • Credo Reference
    Full text online general encyclopedias and subject specific reference sources.
    Large multidisciplinary periodical database containing magazine, journal and newspaper articles.
  • All Library Databases  - a complete listing of the Library's research databases organized by subject

Interlibrary Loan for articles

Did you find an article you would like to use for your research, but we don't have full text access?

You may request the book be sent to you via our InterLibrary Loan Service.

How to submit a request:

1. Check to make sure the journal and the full text article is not available through another NSCC database. Search Full-Text Finder.

If you locate the full text article, click on the full-text access button to open and read the article. 

2. If the full-text article is not available, fill out the InterLibrary Loan Article Request form.