Skip to main content

English as a Second Language (ESL): Web Resources

General Web Resources

  • Purdue OWL for ESL Instructors and Students

    • This section of Purdue OWL website provides ESL students/instructors with definitions and meanings of verbs, adverbs, adjectives etc…. It also provides information on Plagiarism and Academic Integrity.   It also provides resources on workplace writing

  • Using English (UE)

    • It includes 518 free English language quizzes covering grammar, usage and vocabulary for beginner, intermediate and advanced level English students. Simply answer all of the questions in the quiz and press submit to see your score and other statistics.

  • Activities for ESL students

    • Quizzes, tests, exercises and puzzles to help you learn English as a Second Language (ESL)

  • Sticky Ball

    • Tons of FREE, PRINTABLE ESL resources for teachers, including ESL worksheets, ESL grammar exercises, ESL writing exercises, ESL phrasal verbs worksheets, and an ever-growing bank of EASY, USEFUL games and activities for the ESL classroom.

Writing Tips

  • My English Pages
    • Tips on different types of essay and writings.  It also provides tips on sentence structure, grammar rules and other helpful tips such as ‘academic expressions’
  • Write & Improve
    • Write & Improve is a free service for learners of English to practice their written English. Submit your written work and receive feedback in seconds, covering spelling, vocabulary, grammar and general style.
  • Sticky Ball
    • It includes extensive list of writing lessons along with activities and questions, organized by level.  Each level is broken down by unit that covers different topics (grammar, punctuation, Transitions and Connectors, Useful Phrases and Sentence Patterns, how to write a formal paragraph.

Reading Comprehension

  • Breaking News English :
    • These inventive lesson plans teach ESL online by drawing inspiration from recent news and global affairs. Each lesson is packed with information about word usage, grammar, and more. It includes matching/fill in the blank to assess knowledge.  

Audio and Video

  • ELLO

    • Listen as speakers from around the world discuss various topics. Students can listen to the audio, read the script, take a quiz, and learn vocabulary. Over 1400 free lessons.

  • The English Learner Movie Guides:

    • This site takes popular movies and uses their summaries and idioms to examine the English language. This site is ideal for ESL students with a love of U.S. culture.

  • VOA Learning English:

    • This Voice of America channel features news and human interest stories in American English, but spoken 33% slower than regular broadcast speed to make it easier to follow along. Through this method of immersive learning, students can explore a wide range of English vocabulary subjects.

  • Ted Talks

    • TED is a nonprofit devoted to spreading ideas, usually in the form of short, powerful talks (18 minutes or less). TED began in 1984 as a conference where Technology, Entertainment and Design converged, and today covers almost all topics — from science to business to global issues — in more than 100 languages. 

Games and Activities

  • Grammar Exercises 
    • You can test your grammar skills by clicking on any of the links.  You will be able correct your mistakes as you go.  * The answer box expands as you type, so make sure to write your answers in complete sentences.  
  • Test your English 
    • Test your English knowledge by taking a quiz on general/everyday questions.  
  • Test your English Level
    • Test your English. This is a quick English test. There are fifty sentences and you must put the correct word into the gap by clicking on it. At the end of the test you will be given a percentage and an approximation of your level.
    • Please be aware that this is only a quick test and cannot be used as a proof of your level for any purposes. 
  • Games and Activities 
    • Games and activities for adult English learners as well as all the necessary pintables.  It includes: Warm-up activities, Grammar focused games (ex. Jeopardy), Vocabulary focused games, Pronunciation activities, conversation questions, Speaking activities, Tech &Apps