Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Our new SNAP! Search makes finding information and credible sources a breeze. Search almost all of our databases at once with this powerful search. Here, you’ll find journals, books, videos, magazines, and more all in one search.
Is it scholarly?
There are specific indicators that aid in identifing whether a source is scholarly, these include:
-number of citations
-author (who is it)
-purpose or intent of publication
Distinguishing Scholarly Journals from Other Periodicals (adapted from Cornell University Library), discusses these cues and gives examples of all article types on the scholarly/formal to popular/informal spectrum.
Using Database Limiters
Databases often allow you to limit your results to show only items from scholarly journals.
This limiter can be denoted as either scholarly, peer reviewed, or refereed.
Using this limiter will not filter out book reviews, literature reviews, or editorials/commentaries which are components of scholarly journals, but are not an appropriate journal article source for your assignment.
Veterinary Technology Research Databases
Article search considerations:
- you may need to use more technical language when searching for journal articles
- consider searching by scientific name vs. common name of disease
- using quotes around disease name may bring back more relevant results
- use five year prior publication date benchmark
- utilize scholarly journal, peer-reviewed article limiters within the database
- mine bibliographies for potentially better sources
- look at results from veterinary or animal science subject journals
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A wide range of full-text journals, includes peer-reviewed content of veterinary technology related topics. NSCC Login required.
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
A large multidisciplinary database, includes broad coverage of veterinary technology related magazines and journals. NSCC Login required.
PubMed is an article database of biomedical and life sciences journal literature, including animal health, from the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).
Health and Medicine This link opens in a new window
Includes scholarly and professional journals and magazines on veterinary and animal science related topics. Tip:Use the Advanced Search option and limit by publication title: Veterinary Medicine. NSCC Login required.
Medline This link opens in a new window
Includes the National Library of Medicine's authoritative information on veterinary medicine. NSCC Login required.
Biomedical Reference Collection This link opens in a new window
Includes biomedical and life science journal literature, including studies related to animal health. NSCC Login required.
Agriculture Collection This link opens in a new window
Includes journals and professional magazines related to all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including animal and veterinary sciences. NSCC Login required.
AGRICOLA is the catalog of the National Agricultural Library, includes resources in all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines: including animal sciences, veterinary sciences and environmental sciences.
Learn what a scholarly journal and research article are, and understand the different sections of them. (Credit: University of Texas - San Antonio Libraries)
InterLibrary Loan Service
Did you find an article source you would like to use for your research, but it is not available full-text in one of the Library’s research databases or in our print journal collection?
You may request the article be sent to you via our InterLibrary Loan Service.
How to submit a request:
1. Check to make sure the article is not available at NSCC. Search for the journal to see if it is available in print or electronically at the NSCC Libraries.
2. If the journal is not available at the NSCC Libraries, fill out the InterLibrary Loan Article Request form.