Skip to main content

Mobile Apps: Research and Reference

Easybib

Jstore

Jstor has 497 scholarly titles in arts & sciences (JSTOR A&S II + III), and Language & Literature.  To access the database you must be logged in to the NSCC library and just add the mobile site to your bookmarks.  It is not possible to get access to the JSTOR app from App Store.  Free

Merriam-Webster Dictionary

Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary app allows you to search for definitions, and if you need to find a spelling of a certain word you also have the option to do a voice search.  It gives a thorough definition of a word along with synonyms, antonyms, example sentences, Word of the Day, and more.  Note: there are ads that run as you are searching.  Free

Steps:
1.  Search Merriam Webster on your device (itune store or google play).
2. Download and right away start searching for any word.
3. You will automatically see the definition.  
4. Alphabetical listing of other words that start with the same letter as the searched word will appear on the left hand side. 
5. There are different useful tabs available (recent searches, games, daily words, favorites, and more). 


***For more information and to view screenshots please click on the icons below***
 

Ebscohost

EBSCOhost offers a broad range of full text and bibliographic databases designed for research. Subject areas include academic, humanities, general studies, literary, biomedical, government, school, applied science, technology, and education.  EBSCOhost Mobile provides access via mobile devices without the need to download an application.  Free

Steps:
1. Go to NSCC library's databases http://library.northshore.edu/resources/azlist

2. Click on All EBSCOhost database and a mobile-friendly version of the site will display. 

3. Many databases are included in EBSCO, first select which database to search as they are organized by subject and click continue.

4. Next, limit results to full text, and search.

5. You will retrieve full text articles.
6. Click on the title itself to view the article then click on the pdf link to download.

7. You have the option of downloading/saving the articles to your device (for offline reading) or e-mailing (click on the e-mail icon) the articles to yourself.  

***For more information and to view screenshots please click on the icons below***

 

Access My LIbrary - GALE Reference Resources

Access My Library® displays the Gale reference resources subscribed to by NSCC. You will have unlimited access to all the databases and eBooks that NSCC subscribes covering wide range of subjects  Free. 

Steps: 
1. After downloading the app, a pop up window will ask you whether to allow the app to use your location – say Yes! 
2. Next you will be prompted to select your institution (*North shore Community College). 
3. After selecting your institution, you will be asked to enter a password, click on the option for a password to be sent to you via-email.
4. It will then ask you for your email address.
5. You will receive a password via e-mail.
6. Once you enter your password, you will have access to all the GALE resources to which the library subscribes. 
7. On the bottom you will see Home, E-books, Databases, - choose which resource you would like to access.
8. It will remember your authentication and you can use same password on different devices.

***For more information and to view screenshots please click on the icons below***