Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Fire Science and Safety : Finding Articles & Databases

Article searching tips

Select one of the databases to the right to find articles. 

  • Use "AND" to refine your search and narrow the number of results. 
  • To search a phrase, enclose the term in quotation marks. Example: "fire surpression"
  • To find all possible word endings add *. Example: burn* finds burning, burns, etc.
  • Too many results? Search the terms in the subject field, rather than all search fields.

InterLibrary Loan Service

Did you find an article source you would like to use for your research, but it is not available full-text in one of the Library’s research databases or in our print journal collection?

You may request the article be sent to you via our InterLibrary Loan Service.

How to submit a request:

1. Check to make sure the article is not available at NSCC. Search the journal article title to see if it is available in print or electronically at the NSCC Libraries. 

2. If the journal is not available at the NSCC Libraries, fill out the InterLibrary Loan Article Request form.

FAQs

I can't seem to open the article on my computer. What's wrong?

Databases vary in the amount of information they provide. Some will contain full articles (known as full text), and others may only contain citations of articles.

It is possible that the NSCC Library may have online access to the article in a different database than the one you are using.

Search the Library's Journal Locator to see if you can locate the article in another database. IMPORTANT *Search by the TITLE of the journal or magazine, not by the title of the article.*

 

I am getting a cookies error message, what does that mean?

If you receive a Cookies Error Message when using the Library's research databases, you need to enable your browser to Accept All Cookies. 

Try a Google search on "enabling cookies" and "your browser name" for instructions.

  

Should I use scholarly or popular sources?

Journals and magazines are important sources for up-to-date information. With database access to large and diverse periodical collections, it is often difficult to distinguish between the various levels of scholarship found in the collections.

There are five main categories for periodical literature:

1. Scholarly

2. Trade/Professional

3. Substantive News/General Interest

4. Popular

5. Sensational

The first three are appropriate for academic research.

The document below, adapted from Cornell University Library, describes in detail the attributes for each category.

Fire Science Databases

Search thousands of journals, magazines and newspapers for articles on your topic at one time using subject databases.

Each database indexes different sources so try multiple databases when conducting your research.

  • Enter in keywords related to your topic.
  • Click on the title of the article to view the full text.
  • Features include emailing, creating a folder to save and store articles, autociting.

 

How to Access and Use Google Scholar

In order to access Google Scholar and see which of the articles NSCC has, you need to:

  •  Sign into your gmail.northshore.edu account.
  • Go to scholar.google.com, you should see your email in the upper right hand corner.
  • Select "Settings" at the top of the page.

  • On the left hand side of the page select "Library Links"
  • In the box under "Show library access links for" type in North Shore Community College and then click the button with the magnifying glass.
  • "North Shore Community College - Full Text @ NSCC Library" will appear, make sure the box is checked. 
  • Click "Save" and start searching!

  • If it says "Full Text @ NSCC Library" click that link and it will direct you to the article in one of our databases
  • If it says " [HTML] or "[PDF]" the site that it directs you to may ask for a payment to view the article.