Use textbooks and reference books to answer background questions. These types of questions are broad and when answered provide basic foundational knowledge. Background questions often begin with "what" or "when".
Examples:
The NSCC Libraries use the Library of Congress Classification System for call numbers. The system using a combination of letters and numbers to arrange materials by subject on the shelves.
The section in the NSCC Libraries that contains materials related to surgical technology is RD.
Related subject areas may also be useful in your research:
|
Subject: |
Call Number Starts With: |
|
Human Anatomy |
QM |
|
Physiology |
QP |
|
Microbiology |
QR |
|
Medicine |
R |
|
Public Aspects of Medicine |
RA |
|
Pathology |
RB |
|
Internal Medicine |
RC |
|
Examination and Diagnosis Including radiography |
RC 71 - 78.7 |
|
Popular Medicine |
RC 81 - 82 |
|
Neurology and psychiatry |
RC 321 - 576 |
|
Geriatrics |
RC 952 - 954 |
|
Surgery |
RD |
|
Surgical nursing |
RD 99 - 99.35 |
|
Ophthalmology |
RE |
|
Otorhinolaryngology |
RF |
|
Gynecology and obstetrics |
RG |
|
Maternal care |
RG 940 - 991 |
|
Pediatrics |
RJ |
|
Pediatric nursing |
RJ 245 - 247 |
|
Dermatology |
RL |
|
Pharmacology |
RM |
|
Pharmacy |
RS |
|
Nursing |
RT |
Alexander's Care of the Patient in Surgery by
Includes history and pathology for procedure, surgical anatomy, preoperative considerations, OR positioning, and overview of operative procedures that includes instrumentation.
Berry and Kohn's Operating Room Technique by
Easily learn how to apply basic surgical principles and techniques with Berry & Kohn's Operating Room Technique, 14th Edition. For over 50 years, this highly readable text has been trusted to clearly cover the "nuts and bolts" of surgical techniques in a step-by-step format. Expert authors Nancymarie Phillips and Anita Hornacky emphasize the importance of teamwork throughout, with practical strategies and examples of how cooperation among perioperative caregivers contributes to positive patient care outcomes. With a strong focus on the physiologic, psychologic, and spiritual considerations of perioperative patients, this extensively updated new edition gives you the knowledge you need to plan and implement comprehensive, individualized care. Detailed information on the fundamentals of perioperative nursing and surgical technology roles enhance students' understanding of basic surgical principles and techniques. Emphasis on teamwork among perioperative caregivers encourages cooperation in attaining positive patient care outcomes. In-depth discussions of patients with special needs related to age or health status help students learn how to develop a plan of care tailored to the unique care needs of all patients. Focus on the physiologic, psychologic and spiritual considerations of patients gives students the knowledge they need to plan and implement comprehensive, individualized care. Vivid high-quality illustrations reflect the latest in perioperative procedures and provide key safety information. Coverage of both inpatient and ambulatory procedures highlights key considerations for each settings as well as for individual surgical procedures. Chapter outlines with page numbers, chapter objectives, and key terms and definitions help students quickly find important information and focus study time. Enhanced TEACH manual and extensive Evolve resources maximize classroom learning. Step-by-step coverage of the foundations of surgical techniques enables students to effectively apply basic principles to practice. Updated tables and boxes call attention to the most important concepts from the text. References highlight the evidence-based practice approach used throughout the text. NEW! Updated evidence-based content reflects the 2019 AORN Guidelines for Perioperative Practice and covers: recommendations for attire; revisions in sterilization and instrument processing; FDA standards, recalls, and approvals; CDC updated screening data; current technology and instrumentation; prevention and treatment of surgical infection; recommendations for perioperative patient care, documentation, and hand-over; updated surgical facility requirements; and more. NEW! Current recommendations for the comprehensive surgical checklist have also been incorporated in the text. NEW! Updated practice examination has been added to the perioperative education and learning activities. NEW! Explanation of PNDS provides students with a solid understanding of the Perioperative Nursing Data Set. NEW! Legal and ethical implications for practice ground students in the importance of proper skill performance and thoughtful decision-making.
Surgical Technology for the Surgical Technologist by
Includes pathology, surgical anatomy, equipment, instruments, supplies, preoperative preparation with positioning and draping, steps of surgical procedure for ST and postoperative considerations.
Surgical Technology by
Includes surgical goals of procedure, pathology that induces procedure, detailed discussion of the procedure including positioning, draping, and instrumentation, and the surgical technologist's role in the procedure.
Pharmacology for the Surgical Technologist by 
Surgical Mayo Setups by
A basic guideline to Mayo tray setups for surgical team members who are preparing for procedures.
Guidelines for Perioperative Practice 2022 by
Association of periOperative Registered Nurses (AORN) evidence-based practice guidelines for members of the perioperative team. Includes guidelines in the areas of aseptic practice, equipment and product safety, patient and worker safety, patient care, and sterilization and disinfection.
Search for books and ebooks across all NSCC resources using Ebsco Discovery Search
If the NSCC Library does not have the book on our shelves or electronically, HELM college libraries across the state and other affiliate libraries will lend books to NSCC students, faculty and staff.
