Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EAP 132- Paz

Snap! Search

Our new SNAP! Search makes finding information and credible sources a breeze. Search almost all of our databases at once with this powerful search. Here, you’ll find journals, books, videos, magazines, and more all in one search.

Why Use Articles

Magazines and journals are published more frequently than books. The information is often more current and is easy to locate using library databases.  Journal articles are much more specific and in-depth than many books and magazines. Often journal articles list the sources used to write the article allowing you to find other related sources easliy.

Research Databases

  • Opposing Viewpoints
    Access pro/con essays from the book series Opposing Viewpoints, At Issue, Current Controversies, and Contemporary Issues Companion; reference material, statistics, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles.
  • Credo Reference
    Full text online general encyclopedias and subject specific reference sources.
    Large multidisciplinary periodical database containing magazine, journal and newspaper articles.
  • All Library Databases  - a complete listing of the Library's research databases organized by subject

Types of Articles

Should I use scholarly or popular sources?

Journals and magazines are important sources for up-to-date information. With database access to large and diverse periodical collections, it is often difficult to distinguish between the various levels of scholarship found in the collections.

There are five main categories for periodical literature:

1. Scholarly

2. Trade/Professional

3. Substantive News/General Interest

4. Popular

5. Sensational

The first three are appropriate for academic research.

The document below adapted from Cornell University Library describes in detail the attributes for each category.