The Libraries are open with limited hours. If you want to come to campus, check the Library's website for hours.
You can access our resources and get help from a Librarian online. If you are having trouble accessing a resource or finding what you need let us know. We are here to help!
Our Online Reference service is available Monday-Thursday 8:00 am to 7 pm, Friday 8:00 am to 3 pm, and Sunday 4 pm - 8 pm.
Book an appointment with a Librarian for more in-depth help through Navigate.
An Annotated Bibliography is a great tool for organizing your research
A bibliography is a list of sources (books, journals, Web sites, periodicals, etc.) one has used for researching a topic. Bibliographies are sometimes called "References" or "Works Cited" depending on the style format you are using. A bibliography usually just includes the bibliographic information (i.e., the author, title, publisher, etc.).
An annotation is a summary and/or evaluation. Therefore, an annotated bibliography includes a summary and/or evaluation of each of the sources. Depending on your project or the assignment, your annotations may do one or more of the following.
Summarize: Some annotations merely summarize the source. What are the main arguments? What is the point of this book or article? What topics are covered? If someone asked what this article/book is about, what would you say? The length of your annotations will determine how detailed your summary is.
For more help, see our handout on paraphrasing sources.
Assess: After summarizing a source, it may be helpful to evaluate it. Is it a useful source? How does it compare with other sources in your bibliography? Is the information reliable? Is this source biased or objective? What is the goal of this source?
For more help, see our handouts on evaluating resources.
Reflect: Once you've summarized and assessed a source, you need to ask how it fits into your research. Was this source helpful to you? How does it help you shape your argument? How can you use this source in your research project? Has it changed how you think about your topic?
Your annotated bibliography may include some of these, all of these, or even others. If you're doing this for a class, you should get specific guidelines from your instructor.
Source= Annotated Bibliographies from Purdue OWL
At the top of the page you will put the title "Annotated Bibliography" in the center of the page.
Under the title state your Thesis - What is the focus of your research?
For each source you use, you will...
Copy the MLA Style citation
Write a brief summary and discuss how the source connects to your thesis. Include citations from the source to show these connections.
Most of the Library's databases will format citations in the MLA and APA styles. This is the easiest way to capture your citations. When you find a source look for the Cite/Citation or Email options and copy and paste the citation onto the Matrix.
When writing research papers it is important to cite all the resources you used. As you're conducting your research be sure to collect the citation information from each book, article, or Website you find. Whether you quote directly from one of these sources or put the ideas in your own words you must cite it. If you don't cite correctly you could be found guilty of plagiarism.
Citations are easy to find in the Library's databases; many of which allow you to email the correctly formatted citation to yourself. Basic citation information includes the title of the work, author, publisher, date, and perhaps source. Use the citation templates to find what information you need to collect for your sources.
Check out our Citation Guide for more information about citations and citing.