Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

CMP101 - Composition 1 - Carnevale

Finding Sources

Snap! Search - Stop searching and start finding. Search most of our resources at once and find what you need.

snap search

Use the Snap! Search limiters to narrow down your results by selecting source types, subjects, date ranges and more. These limiters will be located on the left side of your results.

You can also use the Advanced Search to refine your search results. 

eds advance search

The TX All Text option will give you more results by searching the full-text of the document for your search terms. Use caution with the other options in this list, they may not do what you think they should. For most searches, it's best not to select an option. Use the TX option when you don't get any or many results.

emailWhen researching topics for a paper or project, it's important to keep track of the sources you use. The easiest way to do this is to email a source to yourself in the database. This way whenever you come across a source you think you might want to use, you email it and have a record of the source and a way to get the citation when you need it. Most of our databases have an option to email when you're looking at an article, book, or video.

​​​Access to many of the database links on this guide requires NSCC authentication - users must sign in with their NSCC My Northshore (formerly Pipeline) username & password

If you want to place any library materials on hold, request a book from another library, or check out any physical library materials out you will need to have your NSCC ID card.

Stop by the Student Life Office in Danvers (DB 132) or Lynn (LW 171) with a current class schedule and a picture ID to get an NSCC ID.

Where to Start Your Search

Academic journals; podcasts and transcripts from NPR, CNN, and CBC; full-text New York Times back to 1995.
 
Wide coverage scholarly database covering many academic areas. Full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles.
 
Reference books; 66,000 art, science & medical images; 90,000 atlas pages. Create customized exportable data tables; visual concept maps of search results.
 
Over 6,200 full-length programs and 65,800 video segments streamed on demand from Films for the Humanities, BBC, CBC, PBS and others. Subjects include humanities, science, business, health, technical education, careers and counseling. Watch an entire episode, or just one indexed segment keyed to your search.
 
Over 200 journals providing the information needed to stay current on the latest scientific developments, including such topics as particle physics, advanced mathematics, and nanotechnology.
 
497 scholarly titles in arts & sciences (JSTOR A&S II + III), and Language & Literature.
 
Access pro/con articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles.
 
Contemporary science issues, written especially for students.