Skip to main content

Library Resources for COVID-19

Centralized location for all Covid-19 related information

Linking to Articles, Books and Films in the Library's Databases

Many of the library databases provide URLs for linking directly to full-text content. Unfortunately, every database company does it differently. To create a direct link to an article, book or film from a database into your Blackboard course platform you will need to locate the publisher-produced persistent URL. This is also often called a persistent link or bookmark (see instructions below). 

Once you have located the persistent link for a specific item, you will need to copy this URL along with the college's proxy server information so that the material can be accessed from off-campus. To do this type http://ezproxynsc.helmlib.org/login?url= directly before the persistent link you located. Librarians are available to assist you.

We've created step-by-step instructions for creating direct links in all of the following databases:

Options for Presenting Your Content

There are many ways you can share content from our databases with students.

Libguides - We can create a subject, course or assignment Libguide to provide your students with access to specific resources and instruction on how to use them.

Email - You can capture persistent links to specific resources which, when added to our proxy prefix (http://ezproxynsc.helmlib.org/login?url=), you can email to your students.

Blackboard - You can capture persistent links to specific resources which, when added to our proxy prefix (http://ezproxynsc.helmlib.org/login?url=), you can share with your students in Blackboard. You can also embed videos from our Films on Demand database in Blackboard.

Talk with us about setting this up for your students.

Danvers
Christine Goodchild Coordinator of Library Services DB-246, x5532 cgoodchi@northshore.edu 
Sarah Tremblay Reference & Instruction Librarian DB-245, x5540  strembla@northshore.edu

Lynn
Torrey Dukes Coordinator of Library Services LE-178, x6244 tdukes@northshore.edu 

Adding Library Resources to Blackboard

You can share articles, videos and books from the Library's databases with your students in Blackboard, just follow these steps:

  1. Find the Persistent Link for the source you would like to share in our databases (See instructions on Persistent Linking)
  2. Add the Proxy Prefix to the beginning of the Link http://ezproxynsc.helmlib.org/login?url=
  3. Copy the Link into Blackboard

In Blackboard

1. Click on Content

                    Blackboard menu example

 

2. Click on Build Content and choose Web Link 

Blackboard menu example

3. Copy the Persistent Link with the Proxy Prefix